This website uses cookies. If you are happy with the use of these cookies please continue to browse our website. For more information see our Privacy page. You may adjust your cookie settings via your chosen browser tools. Learn more
Skip to content

The newly formed Department for Energy and Mining is committed to delivering affordable, reliable and secure energy supplies in a transitioning national energy market, and to responsibly unlock the value and opportunities offered by South Australia's mineral and energy resources.

The Department is made up of the following divisions:

Battery storage heroEnergy Implementation
This division leads the delivery of an integrated reform package to create more energy competition, provide more options for managing energy demand, and to support the full take up of household batteries and grid scale storage to ensure more affordable energy prices and more reliable electricity for South Australian households and businesses.

The Division also leads cross-portfolio action to maximise economic opportunities and job creation associated with a low carbon economy including large-scale renewable energy and energy storage, hydrogen production, zero emission vehicles, renewables and bioenergy.

Transmission linesEnergy and Technical Regulation
The Energy and Technical Regulation Division provides policy advice and coordination of energy market reforms, including national reforms, sustainability, energy efficiency and renewable energy policy.

The Division manages service delivery energy programs in support of energy efficiency and renewable energy, and provides safe and reliable electricity services to remote towns and areas of the state, including Aboriginal lands. It also manages the enforcement, compliance and promotion of technical and safety regulation and the monitoring and management of emergency (energy related) events.

Acrasia 1Energy Resources
The Energy Resources Division leads the ongoing development and regulation of South Australia’s abundant petroleum and gas resources, and geothermal exploration and development.

The Division has responsibility for facilitating the generation of royalty income, economic development, wealth and jobs, and the minimisation of impacts on the environment and public safety on behalf of all South Australians.

Underground miningMineral Resources
The Mineral Resources Division facilitates and regulates the responsible development of South Australia's mineral resources in a way that maximises community outcomes and net benefit, ensures environmental stewardship and social responsibility, and promotes mineral exploration to increase the potential for support future social and economic prosperity for all South Australians.

The Division delivers services across the resource value chain from the provision of geoscientific information and policy advice, to case management and regulation.

Resources infrastructureResources Infrastructure and Investment Task Force (RIITF)
The Resources Infrastructure and Investment Task Force delivers transformative outcomes to significant resource and industry investment opportunities for the benefit of the South Australian community.

The Task Force design and deliver specialised resource strategies, programs and projects through collaboration with stakeholders across government, industry and the community, which are responsive to significant state challenges and opportunities in terms of size and complexity.