Skip to content

From Monday 13 August Energy Resources Division will relocate to level 4, 11 Waymouth Street, Adelaide 5000.  Don't forget to update your links and bookmarks to

On this page

Cooper Basin folio

Cooper_basin_folioThis folio was the culmination of an extensive seismic mapping and interpretation of the Cooper and Eromanga Basins, South Australia that commenced in 1995. Three key horizons C, P (Top Permian) and Z(Basement) are mapped in both time and depth using open file company data.

The resulting data is presented in two volumes:

  • Volume 1 contains key seismic depth structure maps, formation isopachs and structural elements.
  • Volume 2 contains the geological datasets including lithofacies mapping, maturity maps of key source intervals, depths to oil and gas windows and gas wetness maps.

All data are also available in digital format and are supplemented by individual technical reports available from Energy Resources Division email

C-P-Z horizon maps

2009 update 

Updates of the 2002 C, P and Z horizon maps, for both time and depth, are now available. Created by DSD in 2008/09, these new horizon maps are:

  • Based on the original 1997 and updated 2002 mapping
  • Included current company interpretations made available to DSD
  • Based on Cooper Basin exploration programs since 2000
The new depth grids have been tied to all available wells at the C, P and Z horizon levels.

2002 update 

All data created during the 1997 regional mapping programme were updated in 2002 to cater for the change in mapping datum from AGD 84 to GDA 94. Some refinements to the original data and maps were made but these were largely minor in nature.

1997 mapping programme 

Regional mapping was undertaken by DSD (formerly PIRSA; DMITRE) between 1995 and 1997 to provide explorers with a comprehensive view of the structure of the Cooper Basin. Three key seismic horizons were mapped using existing open file seismic sections and industry interpretations all tied to the extensive network of some 1300 wells in the basin. The horizons mapped were:

  • Top Cadna-Owie (C horizon)
  • Near-top Permian (P horizon)
  • Top Warburton (Z horizon)

These horizons generally divide the basin into the gas prone units of the Permo-Triassic Cooper Basin and the overlying oil prone Jurassic Eromanga Basin. In addition to the C-P-Z horizons maps, another six horizons which divide the stratigraphic section further have been presented based on well data and phantomed on the key interpreted seismic horizons. Horizon maps have been converted to depth and an extensive range of isopach maps have been prepared.

A description of the methods and techniques employed in this mapping project and the horizons interpreted are detailed in the 1998 report, Report on Seismic Mapping Project, Cooper and Eromanga Basins, South Australia, 1995-1997 (PDF - 3.6 MB). Many of the maps contained within this dataset were also included in the original Cooper Basin Folio - Volume 1.

NGMA Cooper and Eromanga Basins products


Regional seismic horizon maps

DSD in conjunction with AGSO (now Geoscience Australia) and the Queensland, New South Wales and Northern Territory government agencies merged data for three key seismic horizons to provide a complete regional (national) view of the structure of the Cooper and Eromanga Basins.

This project was completed in 1997/98 as part of the National Geoscience Mapping Accord (NGMA) and was a natural extension of the C-P-Z Mapping Project completed by PIRSA; DMITRE at the same time for the South Australian sector of the Cooper Basin area (see Cooper Basin C-P-Z Maps) and Eromanga Basin (see Eromanga Basin Seismic Maps).

Compilation was based on available seismic profile data, various company interpretations, other open file industry data, well tops and borehole data.

Final data products include Time maps (P and Z horizons), Depth maps (C, P, and Z horizons) and Isopachs (C-P, P-Z and C-Z) as well as grids and contour data for these horizons. All data has been updated to the GDA 94 reference datum in 2001 and are now available as free downloads from SARIG.

Eromanga Basin seismic maps

In conjunction with the Cooper Basin mapping, DSD completed similar mapping of the Eromanga and Pedirka Basins. This is a much more aerially extensive dataset than the Cooper Basin dataset and covers most of the extent of the Eromanga Basin (about 20% of South Australia). Maps were last updated in 2002. 

An example, the Top Cadnaowie (C) seismic horizon map is available.


For more information, contact:

Iain Campbell
Chief Geophysicist

Phone: + 61 8 8429 2465