Skip to content

From Monday 13 August Energy Resources Division will relocate to level 4, 11 Waymouth Street, Adelaide 5000.  Don't forget to update your links and bookmarks to

A 10-year moratorium on fracture stimulation (also known as “hydraulic fracturing”, or “fracking”) for the production of gas has been introduced in the Limestone Coast region of South East South Australia.

As of 30 March 2018, the moratorium will be in place in the following local council areas defined as comprising the Limestone Coast region (map provided below):

  • City of Mount Gambier
  • Naracoorte Lucindale Council
  • District Council of Grant
  • Tatiara District Council
  • Kingston District Council
  • Wattle Range Council
  • District Council of Robe

The Department for Energy and Mining will not for a 10-year period consider for approval in the above listed local council areas an Environmental Impact Report or Statement of Environmental Objectives submitted under Section 97 and 99 of the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Act 2000 that includes fracture stimulation.

To better inform community perceptions in respect to all forms of gas exploration, development and production, the State Government has partnered with CSIRO’s Gas Industry Social and Environmental Research Alliance (GISERA) to carry out independent research within the Limestone Coast region.

Details on the research projects to be undertaken by GISERA can be found online at:

Fracture stimulation is still permitted in other regions of the State subject to the requisite approval process under the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Act 2000.