This website uses cookies. If you are happy with the use of these cookies please continue to browse our website. For more information see our Privacy page. You may adjust your cookie settings via your chosen browser tools. Learn more
Skip to content

At its meeting on Wednesday 19 December 2018, the COAG Energy Council agreed to amendments to the National Electricity Law to give effect to the Retailer Reliability Obligation as well as local amendments to its operation in South Australia.

The National Electricity (South Australia) (Retailer Reliability Obligation) Amendment Bill 2019 (the Bill), currently progressing through the South Australian Parliament, amends the National Electricity (South Australia) Act 1996 so that a T-3 reliability instrument could be made by the South Australian Minister if it appears to the Minister, on reasonable grounds, that there is a real risk that for a specified period supply of electricity to all or part of the South Australian community may be disrupted to a significant degree.

The Bill also provides a head of power to make Regulations to modify the Rules to ensure the clear and efficient operation of the South Australian Minister’s power.

On 8 March the Energy Security Board released draft changes to the National Electricity Rules related to the Retailer Reliability Obligation for public consultation.

The South Australian Government is seeking stakeholder feedback on how South Australia may need to amend the application of some Rules in South Australia in relation to a T-3 reliability instrument made by the South Australian Minister.

The consultation paper can be found here (PDF 215.4 KB)

Consultation details

Submissions have now closed - the following submissions were received: