Skip to content

COVID-19 Updates for resources sector: fee relief | To report a serious incident to DEM, as required by Section 85(2) of the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Act 2000, licensees should contact the serious incident reporting hotline on: (08) 8463 6666. For more information please visit the Compliance and Monitoring webpage | DEM-ERD has just released the first “Basin in a Box” data-package covering the Simpson and Pedirka Basins. The dataset is available via the “Data and Publications” page. Each package is a consolidated set of seismic and well data to facilitate new ventures and exploration assessments of frontier basins in South Australia. Data releases for other frontier basins will follow. | Changes to data submission requirements during COVID-19 restrictions. For further information see here.

Premier's Awards in Energy and MiningSouth Australia’s energy, resources and supply chain companies have been praised for excellence in diversity, innovation and working with communities at last Friday night’s Premier’s Awards in Energy and Mining.

The awards recognise companies which demonstrate leadership and leading practice approaches to improve the economic and social wellbeing of communities in South Australia.

The entries for the 2018 Premier's Awards:

  • Showcased South Australia as a place to successfully undertake innovative projects
  • Demonstrated leadership in implementing leading practice
  • Raised the bar in workplace practices or community engagement
  • Implemented projects that have measurable or valued impacts in the market place for ideas.

Mining and energy companies play a significant role in the community through local partnerships, supply chain investment, employment, training, social inclusion initiatives and continuous improvement of environmental sustainability.

The energy and resources sectors have a long-standing connection to the state’s prosperity. These sectors will continue to be key drivers of economic growth and social development to the benefit of all South Australians.

Nineteen award winners and commendation recipients, were recognised for their strong focus on innovation, community and performance.

Energy sector awards

Excellence in Working with Communities: Delivering Customer Value
  • Winner: SIMEC ZEN Energy for Reducing the cost of energy for the disadvantaged through renewable energy
Excellence in Innovation: Productivity Improvement
  • Winner: Energy Developments Pty Ltd for Coober Pedy Renewable Hybrid
Excellence in Innovation: Transformational Innovation
  • Commendation: 1414 Degrees for the SA Water GAS-TESS project
  • Commendation: SIMEC ZEN Energy for Transforming the Australian energy sector to bring prices down and realise South Australia’s new energy advantage

Mining equipment, technology and services (METS) sector awards

Excellence in Working with Communities
  • Winner: BHP Olympic Dam and C-Res for Local Buying Program
Excellence in Innovation: Productivity Improvement
  • Winner: Boart Longyear for TruScan Innovative onsite core scanning technology
  • Commendation: Minalyze for Minalyzer core scanner and Minalogger data visualization software
Excellence in Innovation: Commercialisation of Research
  • Winner: Maptek Pty Ltd for Maptek Sentry

Resources sector awards

Excellence in Diversity
  • Winner: Iluka Resources and the Far West Coast Aboriginal Corporation for Jacinth-Ambrosia - Diversity in Action - Partnerships with Far West Coast and Iluka Resources
  • Commendation: BHP Olympic Dam for Championing change at Olympic Dam
Excellence in Working with Communities
  • Winner: OZ Minerals and Global Maintenance Upper Spencer Gulf for Carrapateena Project
  • Winner: Heathgate Resources for Aboriginal Engagement Program
  • Commendation: Hillgrove Resources Limited and the Kanmantoo Callington Community Consultative Committee for Kanmantoo Callington Regional Master Plan
  • Commendation: Beach Energy for Otway Basin (SA) Project
Excellence in Innovation: Environmental Management
  • Winner: Iluka Resources for Jacinth-Ambrosia Mine rehabilitation research programs to achieve restoration success
  • Winner: Hanson for Rowland Flat Sand Quarry Progressive Rehabilitation
  • Commendation: BHP Olympic Dam for Diesel particulate matter reduction project
Excellence in Innovation: Production Solution
  • Winner: Santos for Wireless to the Wellhead
  • Commendation: Santos for Moomba Integrated Risk Register

More about the Awards

Watch videos of the above companies discussing their projects

Download the Awards guide

Download the awards guide